Interior Chinatown by Charles Yu

“One of the most fun books I’ve read this year!” – IT Department

Charles Yu tells a story of an immigrant family in the style of a Law & Order teleplay. The main character Willis Wu is an actor struggling to break out of the background of the show he is on, ‘Black & White.’ Yu subverts Hollywood clichĂ©s and uses John Denver songs to build characters’ lives that are more vibrant than their tv counterparts.

Florence Adler Swims Forever by Rachel Beanland

“I enjoy family fiction, and this is one of the best I have read in some time. I was hooked after a few pages! The story is told from multiple viewpoints, and the characters in the book really come alive. I felt like I knew the characters, warts and all. The Adler family’s love for one another as they grieve the loss of Florence shines through. The setting, Atlantic City in 1934, and the family’s efforts to help family friends get out of Germany as Hitler rises to power add interest to the story.” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

It’s 1934 in Atlantic City, NJ. Florence Adler, a star swimmer, drowns while training to swim the English Channel. Her Jewish family goes to great lengths to hide Florence’s death from her sister, Fannie, for fear Fannie will lose her baby. The book focuses on the aftermath of the tragedy and shows how love helps a family heal.

Lake Life by David James Poissant

“A poignant, sometimes uncomfortable, yet lingering exploration of family and relationships, perfect for readers of Stewart O’Nan, J. Ryan Stradal, and Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

The Starling family is gathering for one last weekend on Lake Christopher in North Carolina before their vacation home of more than thirty years is sold. However, a tragic accident on their first day causes tensions and secrets to come to the surface.

Your Name = Kimi no na wa by Makoto Shinkai

“Glorious animation, emotional voice acting (I watched the original Japanese version), a perfect soundtrack, and a surprisingly-edge-of-your-seat teen romance collide in Your Name. At a certain moment, I began crying… and basically cried all the way through to the credits. Empathetic tears, nervous tears, sad tears, happy tears. A beautiful roller coaster of a film experience!” – Kelly, Circulation

Mitsuha and Taki are strangers. She lives in a rural town and he’s in faraway Tokyo. Yet they begin regularly waking up in each other’s bodies. Navigating their swapped daily lives, friendships, families, and jobs… they grow to know one another intimately. Is this Fate? The tug of the Universe itself? Will they ever meet one another as their true selves?

The Pyrates by George MacDonald Fraser

“The Pyrates has a colorful world ranging from dungeon fortresses to desert islands to native villages. In many ways, it seems like a Saturday morning cartoon for adults.” – Max, IT
The Pyrates is a comical sea adventure during the golden age of piracy. It follows a large cast of over-the-top characters as they each pursue their own goals, some of which may be wealth, noble missions, or romance.

The Lake House by Kate Morton

“This book really held my interest with a lot of plot twists.” – Mary, Circulation

A riveting story set in two time periods surrounding the disappearance of a young boy. It kept me guessing until the end!

SUPERBLOOM by MisterWives

“I’ve been listening to MisterWives for years, and their latest album SUPERBLOOM is the album I’ve been listening to in order to get me moving and dancing even during the loneliness I’m experiencing during the isolation of quarantine. Many of the songs are about coming out of a dark place and finally living your truth and loving life.” – Gina, Circulation

MisterWives is an indie pop/alternative band that has a good mix of songs you can dance to and lyrics that you can relate to.

Maybe You Should Talk to Someone: A Therapist, Her Therapist, and Our Lives Revealed by Lori Gottlieb

“I really enjoyed this upbeat, insightful, and thought-provoking book. I was intrigued by Lori’s struggles, as well as the struggles of her patients and how therapists can help us with our problems. This book helped me to understand how therapy can help us both see ourselves more clearly and overcome life’s obstacles.” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

Lori Gottlieb is a therapist, author, and advice columnist in Los Angeles who seeks therapy for herself after a difficult breakup. The book features the stories of Lori’s patients and the challenges they face, as well as Lori’s own story and the challenges she faces.

Believe Me by J.P. Delaney

“There are many twists and unexpected turns; the audiobook was especially good!” – DGPL Staff

This is about an English actress (living in NYC) whose goal is to get a green card. She agrees to help the police catch a professor who they suspect of killing his wife….but she doesn’t expect to fall in love with him, or to be driven nearly to her wit’s end to find out the truth.

Real Life by Brandon Taylor

“I loved how well Taylor’s writing was able to transport the reader into Wallace’s mind and body and feel his deep alienation, loneliness, desire, and pain. Taylor’s words are poignant and purposeful, and give a powerful voice to so many experiences, feelings, and emotions that ought to be heard.” – Van, Adult & Teen Services

Wallace, a gay, Black biochem graduate student at a predominantly white Midwestern graduate school, navigates tokenism, racism, and biases in academia while struggling with his own internal conflicts and trauma.