staff
PICKS

Looking for something new? Find your next read with the library's specially curated Staff Picks collection! Staff members from all departments of the library share their favorite books, movies, and music. Staff picks are featured in the lobby, in the stacks marked by a special "Staff Picks" sign, and on our social media accounts!


Curated Lists

Celebrating diversity

Featured themes

Monthly Picks: Meet Someone New

Weekly Recommendations

Find fresh picks every Wednesday on the library's  Facebook, Instagram (@DownersGroveLibrary), or Twitter (@DGlibrary) accounts. Follow and use the hashtag #DGPLreads to keep up with the freshest picks by DGPL staff.


December 7, 2022

Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

Adult, Book, Fantasy, Staff Picks

“It is a take on fantasy that I have never read before. It takes you into a totally different world that you want to read more and more of. The author is very descriptive yet keeps the story mysterious at the same time.” – Natalie, Circu...

November 23, 2022

Night Shift by Stephen King

Adult, Book, Horror, Staff Picks

“I am a slow reader and I sometimes bore from novels so I loved that this was many stories in one that I could read start to end in one sitting. I never got lost after putting my bookmark in for the night because they were short enough t...

November 2, 2022

The Every by Dave Eggers

Adult, Book, Staff Picks

“It made me think deeply about the technology I use in my life.” – Amy, ATS & Kids Room Two months after reading this book, I can’t stop thinking about it. Imagine what our world would be like if Google, Amazon & Meta merged. This dystop...

October 12, 2022

Chicago by Brian Doyle

Adult, Book, Fiction, Staff Picks

“The coolness of simple life, nothing earth shattering but it makes you smile, its the normal things you do! He had a great take on the city.” – Nancy, Circulation His take on Chicago and all the fantastic things there are to do. ...

July 13, 2022

True Biz by Sara Novic

Adult, Book, Fiction, Staff Picks

“I was caught up in the emotions of the characters’ lives as they navigated life-changing events, the unique struggles of teens advocating for themselves, and the eye-opening portrayal of deaf history and deaf culture.” – DG Library Staf...

February 2, 2022

Exit by Belinda Bauer

Adult, Book, Staff Picks

“With its wide cast of characters and interesting puzzle, this book was a real treat.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services In this dark comedic novel, widower Felix Pink is an “Exiteer.” He, along with a partner, sits with someone who is termi...

January 5, 2022

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

Adult, Book, Science Fiction, Staff Picks

“This book didn’t go anywhere I thought it would! I love all things superhero, and reading something so different was a great ride. It’s full of twists and turns and people you start out liking and end up hating and people you start out ...

August 4, 2021

The Silence by Susan Allott

Adult, Book, Staff Picks

“The Silence is a great read for those who like books about family relationships with a suspenseful edge.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services Isla decides to return to Sydney because her father tells her that the police have questioned him ab...

April 21, 2021

Lake Life by David James Poissant

Adult, Book, Staff Picks

“A poignant, sometimes uncomfortable, yet lingering exploration of family and relationships, perfect for readers of Stewart O’Nan, J. Ryan Stradal, and Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services The Starling family...

September 23, 2020

Soon by Lois Murphy

Adult, Book, Horror, Staff Picks

“This is a great mix of horror and drama, in which the reader can easily identify with the main characters.” – Misty, Adult & Teen Services Residents of a small Australian town are plagued by a deadly mist that only appears at night. Mos...

July 8, 2020

Well Met by Jen Deluca

Adult, Book, Romance, Staff Picks

“The perfect light-romantic read for nerdy Renaissance Faire fans. Simon is your everyday English teacher hero who is very much the guy next door, and Emily is a lovely relatable heroine.” – Joy, Adult & Teen Services Emily is just in to...