Paris is Always a Good Idea by Jenn McKinlay

“Half romance, half relationship fiction, Paris is Always a Good Idea made me smile. Chelsea’s journey took her to some memorable locations. The romantic twists were great to read. This was an excellent romance.” – Sharon, Kids Room 

Seven years after her mother’s death, Chelsea Martin doesn’t respond very well to the news her father is remarrying. When her father suggests she doesn’t remember how to laugh, Chelsea seeks to find the person she was before she learned her mother was ill. This takes her on an adventure through Europe and the three loves of her summer abroad.

Mulholland Drive by David Lynch

“It’s psychologically thrilling! Naomi Watts delivers one of the finest performances of her career.” – Jack, Circulation

The director of the critically acclaimed show “Twin Peaks” delivers a mind-bending film about a woman who struggles with the nature of reality as she navigates her acting career in Hollywood.

A Brief History in Time by Stephen Hawking

“Reading this book has helped me settle into accepting uncertainty about why things are the way they are. I also developed a greater curiosity for physics and astronomy. Learning about atmosphere and movement will continue to shape the way I look at life.” – Emily, Circulation

This book describes how theories about the shape and formation of the universe have evolved over time. Dr. Hawking uses historical discoveries and diagrams as a way to describe how the universe contains black holes that process matter in a way that is similar to a vacuum. Furthermore, he leaves the unanswered questions of “When?” and “How?” encouraging readers to think critically and to accept uncertainty.

The Peanut Butter Falcon by Tyler Nilson and Michael Schwartz

“The best part of the story is that the writer/director team of Tyler Nilson and Michael Schwartz knew Zack Gottsagen who plays Zak in the movie. They met him at a camp for artists where he was expressing his sincere wish to become a movie star. They were trying to gently inform him that there aren’t a lot of roles for actors who have Down Syndrome, so he asked them to write a movie that he could star in. That was the inspiration behind the script that became the movie.” – Martha, Circulation

This compelling story will grab you from the start.  Zak is a young adult with Down’s syndrome who dreams of being a professional wrestler. Abandoned by his parents, he lives in a small town with limited resources so he must live in a retirement home.  He is very unhappy and makes a break for it with the help of his elderly roommate Carl.  All alone on the road, he befriends a man named Tyler who is on the brink of his own personal crisis. Their unlikely friendship is both heartwarming and sweet (at times hysterical, inspirational).   The story of their journey is one you will not forget, nor will you ever forget Zak.

Lady in Waiting: My Extraordinary Life in the Shadow of the Crown by Anne Glenconner

“This book is a fascinating look into the life of an English aristocrat. In addition to showing the reader what life as an English aristocrat is like, the book portrays Anne as a real person who has experienced both joys and sorrows in life. Despite Anne’s privileges, she has endured many difficulties, including the deaths of two of her children, serious injury to another, and a husband who was very challenging. If you are an Anglophile and loved watching The Crown and Downton Abbey, this is the book for you!” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

This fascinating memoir introduces us to Anne Glenconner, the daughter of the Earl of Leicester, who was born in England in the early 1930s. Anne was a childhood friend of Princesses Margaret and Elizabeth, served as a maid of honour at the Coronation of Queen Elizabeth, and spent over 30 years as a lady in waiting to Princess Margaret. Anne married a very wealthy, but eccentric, man, had five children, traveled the world, hobnobbed with stars on the island of Mustique, and endured numerous family difficulties and tragedies.

The Silence by Susan Allott

“The Silence is a great read for those who like books about family relationships with a suspenseful edge.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

Isla decides to return to Sydney because her father tells her that the police have questioned him about a neighbor who went missing thirty years ago. Isla remembers the neighbor, Mandy, because Mandy babysat Isla when Isla was young. The Silence tells the story of Isla’s parents and Mandy and her husband, Steve, in the late 1960’s when they lived next door to each other, along with the contemporary story of Isla trying to uncover what happened to Mandy three decades ago.

Anonymous Rex by Eric Garcia

“For me to say that this book is carried by its ridiculous premise would be a disservice to the quality of its writing, but the truth is that it has so much thoughtful and adult humor that eventually you take it for granted, and it becomes the natural setting for the mystery our detective is uncovering. When I’m reading, my emotions bounce back and forth from moments of laugh-out-loud comedy about human-suit wardrobe malfunctions to cringing at tense and believable drama. And if you love a story with a great late-game twist, this one has you covered.” – Max, IT

This is a detective novel in the tradition of Dashiell Hammet or Raymond Chandler. A hard-boiled and disillusioned private investigator just wants answers, but gets wrapped up in a conspiracy that could cost him his life. Oh, and did I mention that he’s a velociraptor? Wait, I should also explain that dinosaurs didn’t go extinct, but instead have evolved into more humanoid shapes stuffed uncomfortably into human disguises. It’s very important that humans don’t discover the existence of dinosaurs among them, that might shake society to its core. Anyway, it’s really a detective story about our private eye trying to uncover the truth, seek justice, and navigate the treacherous path between dangerous criminals, manipulative politicians, and mad visionaries, all while keeping the two worlds apart.

The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding by Jennifer Robson

“I enjoy all things royal, so this book was perfect for me. I loved reading about the secrecy surrounding Queen Elizabeth’s wedding gown, the exquisite embroidery covering the dress, the excitement surrounding the royal wedding, and life in post-war London. I also enjoyed the personal story of Ann and Miriam, the two lead embroiderers on the dress, and the story of their friendship and lives. This is a feel-good, easy to read book that is perfect for historical fiction fans.” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

The Gown is a historical novel about two women, Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, who embroidered Queen Elizabeth’s wedding gown for her 1947 wedding. Ann is a Londoner who has lost most of her family and Miriam is a Holocaust survivor who has moved from France to London after the war. The novel provides fascinating detail about the making of the royal wedding gown and also insight into life in post-war London.

Wow, no thank you: essays by Samantha Irby

“I could so relate to these hilarious essays and am convinced the author and I would become immediate best friends upon meeting, or at least exchange mixtapes.” – Gracie, Kids Room

A collection of self-deprecating and humorous essays from an anxious forty-something that finds herself stuck in the middle of a small Midwest town. Literal laugh-out-loud observations of the every day from Samantha Irby.

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End by Naughty Dog

“I’m a married woman in my 30s, and my husband and I (like Nate and Elena) often wonder whether life is merely a series of bills to be paid. Uncharted 4 resonated with me on so many levels. The globe-trotting is thrilling, the scenery is gorgeous, the puzzles and secret passages are atmospheric. There are car chases, cliff-scaling, (non-gore-y) gunfights, consistently funny quips and banter, bro-time with the guys, and romance. It’s Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider + Jason Bourne + Pirates of the Caribbean (the 1st one, of course!) all rolled into one. But more than that, it’s a cinematic story about being yourself while accepting new phases of your life.” – Kelly, Circulation

Nathan Drake is an ex-treasure-hunter who’s been out of the game for years. Though his marriage to journalist Elena is a happy one, the tedium of staying in one place is wearing him down. He eagerly throws himself back into an adventure to help someone from his past… even if that means lying to his wife and putting himself and (fan-favorite) Victor “Sully” Sullivan back into bad guys’ cross-hairs.