Anonymous Rex by Eric Garcia

“For me to say that this book is carried by its ridiculous premise would be a disservice to the quality of its writing, but the truth is that it has so much thoughtful and adult humor that eventually you take it for granted, and it becomes the natural setting for the mystery our detective is uncovering. When I’m reading, my emotions bounce back and forth from moments of laugh-out-loud comedy about human-suit wardrobe malfunctions to cringing at tense and believable drama. And if you love a story with a great late-game twist, this one has you covered.” – Max, IT

This is a detective novel in the tradition of Dashiell Hammet or Raymond Chandler. A hard-boiled and disillusioned private investigator just wants answers, but gets wrapped up in a conspiracy that could cost him his life. Oh, and did I mention that he’s a velociraptor? Wait, I should also explain that dinosaurs didn’t go extinct, but instead have evolved into more humanoid shapes stuffed uncomfortably into human disguises. It’s very important that humans don’t discover the existence of dinosaurs among them, that might shake society to its core. Anyway, it’s really a detective story about our private eye trying to uncover the truth, seek justice, and navigate the treacherous path between dangerous criminals, manipulative politicians, and mad visionaries, all while keeping the two worlds apart.

The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding by Jennifer Robson

“I enjoy all things royal, so this book was perfect for me. I loved reading about the secrecy surrounding Queen Elizabeth’s wedding gown, the exquisite embroidery covering the dress, the excitement surrounding the royal wedding, and life in post-war London. I also enjoyed the personal story of Ann and Miriam, the two lead embroiderers on the dress, and the story of their friendship and lives. This is a feel-good, easy to read book that is perfect for historical fiction fans.” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

The Gown is a historical novel about two women, Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, who embroidered Queen Elizabeth’s wedding gown for her 1947 wedding. Ann is a Londoner who has lost most of her family and Miriam is a Holocaust survivor who has moved from France to London after the war. The novel provides fascinating detail about the making of the royal wedding gown and also insight into life in post-war London.

Wow, no thank you: essays by Samantha Irby

“I could so relate to these hilarious essays and am convinced the author and I would become immediate best friends upon meeting, or at least exchange mixtapes.” – Gracie, Kids Room

A collection of self-deprecating and humorous essays from an anxious forty-something that finds herself stuck in the middle of a small Midwest town. Literal laugh-out-loud observations of the every day from Samantha Irby.

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End by Naughty Dog

“I’m a married woman in my 30s, and my husband and I (like Nate and Elena) often wonder whether life is merely a series of bills to be paid. Uncharted 4 resonated with me on so many levels. The globe-trotting is thrilling, the scenery is gorgeous, the puzzles and secret passages are atmospheric. There are car chases, cliff-scaling, (non-gore-y) gunfights, consistently funny quips and banter, bro-time with the guys, and romance. It’s Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider + Jason Bourne + Pirates of the Caribbean (the 1st one, of course!) all rolled into one. But more than that, it’s a cinematic story about being yourself while accepting new phases of your life.” – Kelly, Circulation

Nathan Drake is an ex-treasure-hunter who’s been out of the game for years. Though his marriage to journalist Elena is a happy one, the tedium of staying in one place is wearing him down. He eagerly throws himself back into an adventure to help someone from his past… even if that means lying to his wife and putting himself and (fan-favorite) Victor “Sully” Sullivan back into bad guys’ cross-hairs.

The Sweeney Sisters by Lian Dolan

“It’s an engaging novel, perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and readers who love novels about family relationships.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

Liza, Maggie, and Tricia are the daughters of famous writer William Sweeney and when he passes away, they reunite at the family home to sort out his affairs. While mourning their father, the women learn that they have another sister, Serena, whom William learned about a month before he died. The Sweeney Sisters is the story of the four over the course of a summer as they come to terms with the secret, bond, and move forward.

Empire of the Ants by Bernard Werber

“The story is tense and fascinating, indulging my love for mystery, conspiracy, and speculative fiction. But my true admiration comes from the author’s thorough understanding of ant species; their biology, society, and behavior. There were many moments where I would stop to research an outlandish claim the book would make, such as ants keeping herds of domesticated livestock, only to discover that it’s not only true but far more complex than the book chooses to explore. The book’s ability to portray the characteristics of these tiny insects while drawing accurate comparisons to human analogs makes the narrative all the more chilling and relatable.” – Max, IT

This novel is a thriller told both from the perspective of a man who moves into his eccentric uncle’s house and from the perspective of an ant that is part of a nearby colony. As each is compelled to investigate different mysterious occurrences, their worlds draw closer together.

Interior Chinatown by Charles Yu

“One of the most fun books I’ve read this year!” – IT Department

Charles Yu tells a story of an immigrant family in the style of a Law & Order teleplay. The main character Willis Wu is an actor struggling to break out of the background of the show he is on, ‘Black & White.’ Yu subverts Hollywood clichés and uses John Denver songs to build characters’ lives that are more vibrant than their tv counterparts.

Florence Adler Swims Forever by Rachel Beanland

“I enjoy family fiction, and this is one of the best I have read in some time. I was hooked after a few pages! The story is told from multiple viewpoints, and the characters in the book really come alive. I felt like I knew the characters, warts and all. The Adler family’s love for one another as they grieve the loss of Florence shines through. The setting, Atlantic City in 1934, and the family’s efforts to help family friends get out of Germany as Hitler rises to power add interest to the story.” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

It’s 1934 in Atlantic City, NJ. Florence Adler, a star swimmer, drowns while training to swim the English Channel. Her Jewish family goes to great lengths to hide Florence’s death from her sister, Fannie, for fear Fannie will lose her baby. The book focuses on the aftermath of the tragedy and shows how love helps a family heal.

Lake Life by David James Poissant

“A poignant, sometimes uncomfortable, yet lingering exploration of family and relationships, perfect for readers of Stewart O’Nan, J. Ryan Stradal, and Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

The Starling family is gathering for one last weekend on Lake Christopher in North Carolina before their vacation home of more than thirty years is sold. However, a tragic accident on their first day causes tensions and secrets to come to the surface.

Your Name = Kimi no na wa by Makoto Shinkai

“Glorious animation, emotional voice acting (I watched the original Japanese version), a perfect soundtrack, and a surprisingly-edge-of-your-seat teen romance collide in Your Name. At a certain moment, I began crying… and basically cried all the way through to the credits. Empathetic tears, nervous tears, sad tears, happy tears. A beautiful roller coaster of a film experience!” – Kelly, Circulation

Mitsuha and Taki are strangers. She lives in a rural town and he’s in faraway Tokyo. Yet they begin regularly waking up in each other’s bodies. Navigating their swapped daily lives, friendships, families, and jobs… they grow to know one another intimately. Is this Fate? The tug of the Universe itself? Will they ever meet one another as their true selves?