Brown by Håkon Øvreås

“Brown has this mostly realistic but slightly magical, totally mundane but kind of absurd feeling to it, that reminds me of Roald Dahl’s stories!” – Lisa, Kids Room

Rusty is having a tough time. His family moved, his grandfather died, and now the local bullies are wrecking his fort! He finds some paint, gathers an all-brown outfit, and becomes BROWN, a superhero who… paints things brown. Can Brown and the other Guardians of the Fort get even, without getting in trouble?

The Biggest Little Farm directed by John Chester

“This documentary has stunning visuals and I felt transported watching the desolate soil come alive again. My entire family enjoyed watching this portrait of life on a big little farm.” – Gracie, Kids Room

Molly has a dream of starting a farm, growing everything she can, and utilizing all traditional farming methods. The dream is set in motion when Molly and her husband make a promise to their dog. They seek investors and soon end up with 200 acres of abandoned land. What unfolds next is the awe-inspiring journey of growing their farm and forever seeking the fragile balance in nature.

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

“The alternating perspectives and flashbacks to events throughout the summer create a suspenseful web of mystery and twists. The audio is a full-cast recording and lends itself well to the nature of the storytelling, where the podcast feels like your typical true-crime podcast. As a lover of true crime and the many podcasts that are devoted to the subject, this book was right up my alley and a good read-a-like to Sadie by Courtney Summers.” – Amanda, Adult & Teen Services

When Anna Cicconi arrives in the small Hamptons village of Heron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna delves deeper into the mystery, feeling that she is somehow connected to Zoe. Two months later, Zoe’s body is found and Anna is charged with manslaughter, although something still does add up for Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast. Did Anna really kill Zoe? If not, can the truth be uncovered?

The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg

“I loved this short, sweet, well-written book! It is a feel-good book that will make you smile, and the book reminded me of the essential goodness of people. It was a perfect book for the quarantine, and I am looking forward to reading Elizabeth Berg’s next two books in the series.” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

Arthur Truluv is a kindhearted, lonely widower who meets Maddy, a troubled teen with a difficult family life, at the cemetery where Arthur’s wife is buried. Arthur and Maddy, along with Arthur’s eccentric neighbor, Lucille, form a friendship and then a family.

The Nine Tailors by Dorothy L. Sayers

“A classic English mystery, with an eccentric detective, arcane clues, and much ado about bells. It’s like the Moby Dick of bells!” – Fred, Adult & Teen Services

Amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey is pressed into service as a bell ringer in Fenchurch St. Paul when an influenza epidemic decimates the town. But what happens next in the quaint old English village is a crime.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

“Donna Tartt is just a beautiful writer. Her descriptions of events and tight dialogue are wonderful, and her story is engaging and unlike anything I’ve ever read. This is a book that rewards a reread so you can pick up on all the foreshadowing and side comments that point you right to the truth before you even know it. The psychological twists and turns of the novel are well-executed and her main character is acutely self-aware and provides an engaging analysis of what he is experiencing in retrospect. The world she builds is so glamorous and exciting, she makes me want to move to the Vermont countryside and hide away in a library forever.” – Sarah P., Circulation

A “why-done-it” mystery that starts with a murder and then catches you up to the motive. The story follows Richard Paper who arrives in New England to study the Classics at Hampden College. He is quickly reduced by an elite group of five students, Greek scholars, who are worldly, self-assured, and highly unapproachable, at least at first. As Richard is drawn into their inner circle, he learned a secret about an incident in the woods in the dead of night where an ancient ritual was brought to brutal life… and led to a brutal death. And that is just the beginning.

Never Rarely Sometimes Always by Eliza Hittman

“Quietly, profoundly powerful. Every single frame is raw and stunningly real. Devastating at times, yet also inspiring and beautiful when viewed through the lens of how friendship, strength, and empathy can get you through anything. Featuring a remarkable debut performance from Sidney Flanigan, this is a masterpiece soaked in an understated yet palpable outrage derived from knowing how difficult it is to be a girl in a man’s world.” – Scott, Admin

Facing an unintended pregnancy and no immediate family support, a teenage girl faces the complexities and challenges that stand in the way of her right to choose.

Build Your Own Christmas Movie Romance: Pick Your Plot, Meet Your Man, and Create the Holiday Story of a Lifetime by Riane Konc

“Riane’s trademark witty writing will grab you from the first few pages. If you love great writing, satire, and holiday reads, this book is for you!” – Joy, Adult & Teen Services

Need a cozy read this holiday season? In a “choose your own adventure” writing style, you can decide your heroine’s problem, how she’ll meet her man during the holidays, all written with Riane’s trademark hilarious prose. A humor writer for McSweeney’s, the New Yorker, and Mad Magazine, this is her first book that’s guaranteed to make you laugh or cry (or both!).

The Queens of Animation by Nathalia Holt

“The Queens of Animation details the significant contributions that women played in the legendary success of Walt Disney.” – MaryKellie, Access Services

Insight into the wonderful, often never mentioned, women who contributed to the success of Disney and it’s animated features!

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett

“I love Terry Pratchett’s Discworld franchise. His keen satire, original fantasy setting, and prolific library of work makes it easy to recommend anything by him. Going Postal, specifically, is the peak of his craft.” – Max, IT

Failed conman Moist von Lipwig receives a stay of execution. In exchange for his life, the manipulative Patrician of the city tasks him with revitalizing the postal service.