I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

“The alternating perspectives and flashbacks to events throughout the summer create a suspenseful web of mystery and twists. The audio is a full-cast recording and lends itself well to the nature of the storytelling, where the podcast feels like your typical true-crime podcast. As a lover of true crime and the many podcasts that are devoted to the subject, this book was right up my alley and a good read-a-like to Sadie by Courtney Summers.” – Amanda, Adult & Teen Services

When Anna Cicconi arrives in the small Hamptons village of Heron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna delves deeper into the mystery, feeling that she is somehow connected to Zoe. Two months later, Zoe’s body is found and Anna is charged with manslaughter, although something still does add up for Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast. Did Anna really kill Zoe? If not, can the truth be uncovered?

Never Rarely Sometimes Always by Eliza Hittman

“Quietly, profoundly powerful. Every single frame is raw and stunningly real. Devastating at times, yet also inspiring and beautiful when viewed through the lens of how friendship, strength, and empathy can get you through anything. Featuring a remarkable debut performance from Sidney Flanigan, this is a masterpiece soaked in an understated yet palpable outrage derived from knowing how difficult it is to be a girl in a man’s world.” – Scott, Admin

Facing an unintended pregnancy and no immediate family support, a teenage girl faces the complexities and challenges that stand in the way of her right to choose.

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett

“I love Terry Pratchett’s Discworld franchise. His keen satire, original fantasy setting, and prolific library of work makes it easy to recommend anything by him. Going Postal, specifically, is the peak of his craft.” – Max, IT

Failed conman Moist von Lipwig receives a stay of execution. In exchange for his life, the manipulative Patrician of the city tasks him with revitalizing the postal service.

A Woman of No Importance by Sonia Purnell

“I loved Virginia Hall’s courage and indomitable spirit, breaking through sexist barriers at that time in history.” – Mary P., Circulation

A captivating true story about how one courageous woman helped change the views of women in warfare forever.

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

“This is a beautifully written novel in verse that will speak to anyone looking to find their place in the world.” – Amanda, Adult & Teen Services

A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen – then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. A bold story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers – to show ourselves to the world in bold color.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

“Mindy auditioned for an Andrew Lloyd Webber musical. (Yes, Mindy Kaling from The Office.) She professionally impersonated Ben Affleck. She used to be a member of a middle school Cheesecake Factory gang of girls. I had to reread multiple chapters because I was laughing too hard the first time.” – Kelly K., Circulation

Mindy Kaling – the obedient, chubster child of immigrant professionals, playwright, and comedy writer/actress – writes a “memoir.” But really, she just makes you feel like she’s in the room with you, reliving her most humiliating failures. And finally, finally, reaching a few goals.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

“I was captivated by this story when my 5th-grade teacher read it to our class during our lunch hour. As a shy 10-year-old, I was drawn to Meg and all that she could do when she trusted herself.” – Cheryl, Circulation

Travel through space and time with Meg Murry, an awkward high school teen, her outcast younger brother, Charles Wallace, and their friend, Calvin O’Keefe as they face evil forces while trying to rescue her scientist father, who is being held prisoner on a newly discovered planet. Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Which are there to assist Meg, but, ultimately, she will need to rely on her own abilities to save her father, her brother, and herself.

You’re Not Listening: What You’re Missing and Why it Matters by Kate Murphy

“It was a fascinating read, but also extremely practical and uplifting, even for those of us who are terrible listeners!” – Joy, Adult & Teen Services

Kate Murphy has done an excellent job explaining how the lack of good listeners in our society is taking a real toll on our ability to form communities of understanding one another. This book had some very practical advice on how to be a better listener and how to form bonds with others by active listening to understand the other rather than to be understood. Example: curiosity. How often do we ask questions because we’re curious about the other person–truly curious? Or ask someone to stop and clarify in a business meeting or department meeting because you didn’t fully understand what they said? Murphy cites several incredible contemporary listeners, crediting their outstanding ability to hear not just what the other person is saying, but also what they are not saying, as indelible to their career success. A must-read!

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

“Morgenstern’s poetic prose is what shines through in this multilayered story that weaves between Zachary’s story and the folkloric stories within the book he’s found. This is a novel that will completely sweep you off your feet.” – Amanda, Adult & Teen Services

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a mysterious book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a story from his own childhood. Bewildered by this inexplicable book and desperate to make sense of how his own life came to be recorded, Zachary uncovers a series of clues–a bee, a key, and a sword–that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, to a secret club, and through a doorway to an ancient library, hidden far below the surface of the earth. Together with Mirabel, a fierce, pink-haired protector of the place, and Dorian, a handsome, barefoot man with shifting alliances, Zachary travels the twisting tunnels, darkened stairwells, crowded ballrooms, and sweetly-soaked shores of this magical world, discovering his purpose–in both the mysterious book and in his own life.

Recursion by Blake Crouch

“Crouch creates very well-defined characters, with a modern twist on time travel and how it impacts the nature of reality.” – Karen B., Adult & Teen Services

In modern-day, people are able to go back in time to a specific memory and make a different choice, which creates an entirely different life. But now people’s old memories are bleeding through. And two people go back in time over and over again, trying to find the memory and choices to change to set the timeline right. Recursion looks at the importance of memory as it defines who we are.