Arsenic and Adobo by Mia P. Manansala

“Cute story, likable characters, snappy dialogue, and lots and lots of references to delicious-sounding Filipino food. My mouth was watering as I read!” – Nancy, ATS

Lila Macapagal moves back to Shady Palms, Illinois to help her aunties run Tita Rosie’s Kitchen, a small-town Filipino restaurant. When Derek Winter, Lila’s ex-boyfriend, drops dead in the restaurant and Lila is a prime suspect, it is up to her to figure out whodunit!

The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica

“It was such a page-turner, it kept me engaged and I could not put it down.” – Lauren, IT

Sadie and Will Foust have only just moved their family from bustling Chicago to a coastal island in Maine when their neighbor Morgan Baines is found dead in her home. The murder rocks their tiny coastal island, but no one is more shaken than Sadie.

Clark and Division by Naomi Hirahara

“Clark and Division immerses the reader in Japanese-American culture in addition to providing a great sense of place for 1940’s Chicago.” – Lora, ATS

When Aki Ito discovers that her older sister, Rose, has committed suicide, she does not believe that Rose would kill herself and vows to discover what happened to her.

The School for Good Mothers by Jessamine Chan

“An unputdownable chilling dystopian tale that gives the reader a lot to ponder.” – Lora, ATS

Frida Liu is struggling. She doesn’t have a career worthy of her Chinese immigrant parents’ sacrifices. She can’t persuade her husband, Gust, to give up his wellness-obsessed younger mistress. Only with Harriet, their cherubic daughter, does Frida finally attain the perfection expected of her. Harriet may be all she has, but she is just enough. Until Frida has a very bad day. The state has its eyes on mothers like Frida. The ones who check their phones, letting their children get injured on the playground; who let their children walk home alone. Because of one moment of poor judgment, a host of government officials will now determine if Frida is a candidate for a Big Brother-like institution that measures the success or failure of a mother’s devotion. Faced with the possibility of losing Harriet, Frida must prove that a bad mother can be redeemed. That she can learn to be good.

Did You Hear What Eddie Gein Done? by Harold Schechter & Eric Powell

“Well-researched and non-exploitative, with illustrations in a drab grey, the book traces Gein’s life from growing up with an alcoholic father and verbally abusive mother, carving out a hermit-like existence as an adult except for handyman jobs, and all the while moving forward in his psychosis, driven by an unwavering devotion to his mother.” – Karen, Adult & Teen Services

A true crime graphic novel rendition of the necrophile serial killer Eddie Gein, who, in the 1950s, killed women and robbed graves to create household items. His life was the basis for films such as Psycho and Silence of the Lambs.

The War Widow by Tara Moss

“A great new addition to the historical mystery genre. I can’t wait for the next book in the series!” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

It’s 1946 and journalist Billie Walker is back home in Sydney running her father’s private investigation agency. Most of Billie’s cases involve marital disputes, but client Mrs. Brown hires her to find her son, Adin, who is missing. Billie’s investigation leads her through both the upper and lower classes of society along with providing a great sense of place in post-war Sydney for the reader in addition to the fashions of the time.

Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley

“Boulley tackles so many large ideas including grief and balancing two cultures and identities, but with grace and intrigue as she weaves them with a drug investigation and mystery. I just couldn’t put this book down. The characters are wonderful and there are so many twists to keep you on the edge of your seat. Grab some snacks and hot cocoa and prepare to spend your whole night reading this book!” – Amanda, Adult & Teen Services

Daunis, who is part Ojibwe, defers attending the University of Michigan to care for her mother and reluctantly becomes involved in the investigation of a series of drug-related deaths.

Home Before Dark by Riley Sager

“I love a good Gothic tale, especially when it involves a haunted house, and this book has it all. It reminds me of Netflix’s version of The Haunting of Hill House, but with its own spin. I could not put it down!” – Katelyn, Administration. 

Maggie returns to her childhood home made famous by her father’s horror memoir. She is determined to find out what really happened the night her family fled the house for good and she resolves to bring to light the secrets, or evil, that is hiding in the house.

Mulholland Drive by David Lynch

“It’s psychologically thrilling! Naomi Watts delivers one of the finest performances of her career.” – Jack, Circulation

The director of the critically acclaimed show “Twin Peaks” delivers a mind-bending film about a woman who struggles with the nature of reality as she navigates her acting career in Hollywood.

Anonymous Rex by Eric Garcia

“For me to say that this book is carried by its ridiculous premise would be a disservice to the quality of its writing, but the truth is that it has so much thoughtful and adult humor that eventually you take it for granted, and it becomes the natural setting for the mystery our detective is uncovering. When I’m reading, my emotions bounce back and forth from moments of laugh-out-loud comedy about human-suit wardrobe malfunctions to cringing at tense and believable drama. And if you love a story with a great late-game twist, this one has you covered.” – Max, IT

This is a detective novel in the tradition of Dashiell Hammet or Raymond Chandler. A hard-boiled and disillusioned private investigator just wants answers, but gets wrapped up in a conspiracy that could cost him his life. Oh, and did I mention that he’s a velociraptor? Wait, I should also explain that dinosaurs didn’t go extinct, but instead have evolved into more humanoid shapes stuffed uncomfortably into human disguises. It’s very important that humans don’t discover the existence of dinosaurs among them, that might shake society to its core. Anyway, it’s really a detective story about our private eye trying to uncover the truth, seek justice, and navigate the treacherous path between dangerous criminals, manipulative politicians, and mad visionaries, all while keeping the two worlds apart.