Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley

“Boulley tackles so many large ideas including grief and balancing two cultures and identities, but with grace and intrigue as she weaves them with a drug investigation and mystery. I just couldn’t put this book down. The characters are wonderful and there are so many twists to keep you on the edge of your seat. Grab some snacks and hot cocoa and prepare to spend your whole night reading this book!” – Amanda, Adult & Teen Services

Daunis, who is part Ojibwe, defers attending the University of Michigan to care for her mother and reluctantly becomes involved in the investigation of a series of drug-related deaths.

Home Before Dark by Riley Sager

“I love a good Gothic tale, especially when it involves a haunted house, and this book has it all. It reminds me of Netflix’s version of The Haunting of Hill House, but with its own spin. I could not put it down!” – Katelyn, Administration. 

Maggie returns to her childhood home made famous by her father’s horror memoir. She is determined to find out what really happened the night her family fled the house for good and she resolves to bring to light the secrets, or evil, that is hiding in the house.

Mulholland Drive by David Lynch

“It’s psychologically thrilling! Naomi Watts delivers one of the finest performances of her career.” – Jack, Circulation

The director of the critically acclaimed show “Twin Peaks” delivers a mind-bending film about a woman who struggles with the nature of reality as she navigates her acting career in Hollywood.

Anonymous Rex by Eric Garcia

“For me to say that this book is carried by its ridiculous premise would be a disservice to the quality of its writing, but the truth is that it has so much thoughtful and adult humor that eventually you take it for granted, and it becomes the natural setting for the mystery our detective is uncovering. When I’m reading, my emotions bounce back and forth from moments of laugh-out-loud comedy about human-suit wardrobe malfunctions to cringing at tense and believable drama. And if you love a story with a great late-game twist, this one has you covered.” – Max, IT

This is a detective novel in the tradition of Dashiell Hammet or Raymond Chandler. A hard-boiled and disillusioned private investigator just wants answers, but gets wrapped up in a conspiracy that could cost him his life. Oh, and did I mention that he’s a velociraptor? Wait, I should also explain that dinosaurs didn’t go extinct, but instead have evolved into more humanoid shapes stuffed uncomfortably into human disguises. It’s very important that humans don’t discover the existence of dinosaurs among them, that might shake society to its core. Anyway, it’s really a detective story about our private eye trying to uncover the truth, seek justice, and navigate the treacherous path between dangerous criminals, manipulative politicians, and mad visionaries, all while keeping the two worlds apart.

Hide and Seeker by Daka Hermon

This quote hooked me immediately! “Out of the darkness, no more light, now it comes to steal your life. On this day you’ve sealed your fate, by playing what it loves to hate. Once you’re tagged, then you’ll know, the mark appears, it’s your time to go. Now you’re in the final count, it’s closer to the set amount.” – Traci, Kids Room

A simple game of hide and seek turns into a horrible nightmare for Justin and his friends!

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End by Naughty Dog

“I’m a married woman in my 30s, and my husband and I (like Nate and Elena) often wonder whether life is merely a series of bills to be paid. Uncharted 4 resonated with me on so many levels. The globe-trotting is thrilling, the scenery is gorgeous, the puzzles and secret passages are atmospheric. There are car chases, cliff-scaling, (non-gore-y) gunfights, consistently funny quips and banter, bro-time with the guys, and romance. It’s Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider + Jason Bourne + Pirates of the Caribbean (the 1st one, of course!) all rolled into one. But more than that, it’s a cinematic story about being yourself while accepting new phases of your life.” – Kelly, Circulation

Nathan Drake is an ex-treasure-hunter who’s been out of the game for years. Though his marriage to journalist Elena is a happy one, the tedium of staying in one place is wearing him down. He eagerly throws himself back into an adventure to help someone from his past… even if that means lying to his wife and putting himself and (fan-favorite) Victor “Sully” Sullivan back into bad guys’ cross-hairs.

Empire of the Ants by Bernard Werber

“The story is tense and fascinating, indulging my love for mystery, conspiracy, and speculative fiction. But my true admiration comes from the author’s thorough understanding of ant species; their biology, society, and behavior. There were many moments where I would stop to research an outlandish claim the book would make, such as ants keeping herds of domesticated livestock, only to discover that it’s not only true but far more complex than the book chooses to explore. The book’s ability to portray the characteristics of these tiny insects while drawing accurate comparisons to human analogs makes the narrative all the more chilling and relatable.” – Max, IT

This novel is a thriller told both from the perspective of a man who moves into his eccentric uncle’s house and from the perspective of an ant that is part of a nearby colony. As each is compelled to investigate different mysterious occurrences, their worlds draw closer together.

Your Name = Kimi no na wa by Makoto Shinkai

“Glorious animation, emotional voice acting (I watched the original Japanese version), a perfect soundtrack, and a surprisingly-edge-of-your-seat teen romance collide in Your Name. At a certain moment, I began crying… and basically cried all the way through to the credits. Empathetic tears, nervous tears, sad tears, happy tears. A beautiful roller coaster of a film experience!” – Kelly, Circulation

Mitsuha and Taki are strangers. She lives in a rural town and he’s in faraway Tokyo. Yet they begin regularly waking up in each other’s bodies. Navigating their swapped daily lives, friendships, families, and jobs… they grow to know one another intimately. Is this Fate? The tug of the Universe itself? Will they ever meet one another as their true selves?

The Lake House by Kate Morton

“This book really held my interest with a lot of plot twists.” – Mary, Circulation

A riveting story set in two time periods surrounding the disappearance of a young boy. It kept me guessing until the end!

Believe Me by J.P. Delaney

“There are many twists and unexpected turns; the audiobook was especially good!” – DGPL Staff

This is about an English actress (living in NYC) whose goal is to get a green card. She agrees to help the police catch a professor who they suspect of killing his wife….but she doesn’t expect to fall in love with him, or to be driven nearly to her wit’s end to find out the truth.