I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

“The alternating perspectives and flashbacks to events throughout the summer create a suspenseful web of mystery and twists. The audio is a full-cast recording and lends itself well to the nature of the storytelling, where the podcast feels like your typical true-crime podcast. As a lover of true crime and the many podcasts that are devoted to the subject, this book was right up my alley and a good read-a-like to Sadie by Courtney Summers.” – Amanda, Adult & Teen Services

When Anna Cicconi arrives in the small Hamptons village of Heron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna delves deeper into the mystery, feeling that she is somehow connected to Zoe. Two months later, Zoe’s body is found and Anna is charged with manslaughter, although something still does add up for Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast. Did Anna really kill Zoe? If not, can the truth be uncovered?

The Nine Tailors by Dorothy L. Sayers

“A classic English mystery, with an eccentric detective, arcane clues, and much ado about bells. It’s like the Moby Dick of bells!” – Fred, Adult & Teen Services

Amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey is pressed into service as a bell ringer in Fenchurch St. Paul when an influenza epidemic decimates the town. But what happens next in the quaint old English village is a crime.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

“Donna Tartt is just a beautiful writer. Her descriptions of events and tight dialogue are wonderful, and her story is engaging and unlike anything I’ve ever read. This is a book that rewards a reread so you can pick up on all the foreshadowing and side comments that point you right to the truth before you even know it. The psychological twists and turns of the novel are well-executed and her main character is acutely self-aware and provides an engaging analysis of what he is experiencing in retrospect. The world she builds is so glamorous and exciting, she makes me want to move to the Vermont countryside and hide away in a library forever.” – Sarah P., Circulation

A “why-done-it” mystery that starts with a murder and then catches you up to the motive. The story follows Richard Paper who arrives in New England to study the Classics at Hampden College. He is quickly reduced by an elite group of five students, Greek scholars, who are worldly, self-assured, and highly unapproachable, at least at first. As Richard is drawn into their inner circle, he learned a secret about an incident in the woods in the dead of night where an ancient ritual was brought to brutal life… and led to a brutal death. And that is just the beginning.

Tomb of the Unknown Racist by Blanche McCrary Boyd

“Ellen’s reckless quest to archaeologize (and maybe redeem?) her family’s flawed and tragic history (and her own role in it) is relentlessly readable. Replete with timeless themes of filial responsibility (“Am I my brother’s keeper,” Ellen asks); the notion of a place beyond forgiveness (literally the land of Nod); and the impenetrability of the past. Quirky and compelling.” – DGPL Staff

Ellen Burns’ brother Royce died ten years ago when the FBI raided his white supremacist compound. Or so everyone thought. But when his daughter shows up on the news claiming he’s kidnapped her children, Ellen impulsively travels to New Mexico to decipher the truth about her brother, and her family’s past.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

“A tightly written thriller from a first-time author, enough twists and turns to keep the reader up all night. A thriller for people who don’t even like thrillers. A great book club choice as well.” – Joy & Misty, Adult & Teen Services

Theo Faber is a psychotherapist on a mission–why is his patient refusing to speak? Alicia Berenson was indicted for shooting her husband in the face five times while he was tied up, but no one knows a motive since she descended into selective mutism after the murder. Will Theo succeed in opening up Alicia before it’s too late?

Before She Knew Him by Peter Swanson

“Peter Swanson is a great writer of Hitchcockian suspense and his newest book, Before She Knew Him, doesn’t disappoint.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

Artist Henrietta “Hen” Mazur is convinced her next-door neighbor Matthew Dolamore is a killer. While at Matthew’s home for dinner one night, Hen sees a fencing trophy that she believes belonged to murder victim Dustin Miller, who lived down the street from Hen when she lived in Cambridge. Hen isn’t sure what to do because she has bipolar disorder and is doing well now, but while in college she had an episode and was arrested for attacking another student because Hen believed the student was a murderer. Hen feels the police won’t believe her now, but when Hen begins to follow Matthew, she becomes a witness to his violence and her and Matthew’s lives become forever intertwined.

Who Wet My Pants? by Bob Shea & Zachariah OHora

“I loved this witty take on what can be an embarrassing situation for little ones. Reuben the bear has such great friends that help him come to terms with who really wet his pants. No need to be ashamed because accidents happen!” – DGPL Staff

Reuben the bear has a mystery to solve… WHO WET MY PANTS? After getting donuts for his scout troop, he discovers a wet spot on his pants and starts to blame his buddies. His friends try to tell him there is no crime, it was just an accident and it’s OK. After all, accidents happen to everyone. However, Reuben doesn’t give up on finding the culprit that wet his pants – even when all the clues start pointing in his direction.

Second Sight by Aoife Clifford

“I love mysteries with a great sense of place, especially when they are set in Australia. Second Sight doesn’t disappoint on that count. It’s also a great read-alike for the novels of Jane Harper.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

Second Sight explores Eliza’s search for the truth about a tragic bushfire and the disappearance of her best friend when they were teenagers. With a great sense of place in the small Australian town of Kinsale, it’s a perfect read-alike for Jane Harper and Julia Keller.

Akin by Emma Donoghue

“Donoghue’s writing is delightful, unexpected, and a joy to read. If you’ve never picked up a Donoghue novel (author of Room), this is a great one to start!” – Joy, Adult & Teen Services

80-year-old Noah discovers that he’s last next of kin to a surly 12-year-old boy he’s never met, right before he’s supposed to take a trip of a lifetime to Nice, France, to re-discover his parents’ mysterious work in World War II. A wondrously immersive novel filled with complex family relationships and WWII drama.

The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco

“Clever and immersive, learned and witty, I was drawn into Eco’s ingenious story and warmly drawn characters.” – Fred, Adult & Teen Services

In 1327, scholar-monk Brother William of Baskerville is sent to an isolated Italian abbey to investigate a series of mysterious deaths. He conducts interviews, collects evidence, deciphers arcane symbols and manuscripts, and finally navigates the monastery’s labyrinthine library to confront the evil within.