Payback’s a Witch by Lana Harper

“It’s a really fun read! It has witches, a magical competition, and a steamy romance. But at its heart, it’s a relatable story about the struggle to figure out who you are outside the family you grew up in and how to celebrate your own power (magical and otherwise).” – Allyson, Kids Room

Emmy Harlow is a witch from a town full of witches, most of whom are much more powerful than she is. She moved away almost ten years ago after an embarrassing break-up with the town golden boy but now must return to fulfill an obligation during an important ritual. She quickly meets up with Talia Avramov, an extremely powerful and extremely attractive fellow witch who proposes a plan to get Emmy the payback she craves. As her relationship with Talia begins to boil over, Emmy works to get revenge, get the girl, and find her true place in her home and her power.

Love and Resistance: Out of the Closet into the Stonewall Era by Roxane Gay (Introduction), Kay Tobin Lahusen (Photographs), Diana Davies (Photographs)

“Visibility, Love, Pride & Protest – what’s not to love? This collection provides a window into the lives of people who changed the world.” – ATS Staff

A powerful collection of photographs from the New York Public Library’s archive of 1960s and 1970s LGBTQ history.

Heartstopper Vol. 1 by Alice Oseman

“The friendships and relationships portrayed in this book are so gentle and lovely. While many coming-of-age stories focus on the difficulties facing its main characters, Alice Oseman instead hones in on the development of genuinely caring and compassionate friendships that support each other in their instances of struggle.” – Lucas, Access Services

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. A sweet and charming coming-of-age graphic novel that explores friendship, love, and coming out. Also now a show on Netflix!

Dragon Age: Inquisition by Bio-Ware

“Magic, sword fights, politics, hard choices, hilarious/thoughtful/moving banter, and romance. This is a 2014 game and remains my favorite.” – Kelly K., Circulation

Mages, once confined to towers with their magic constantly supervised and often brutally punished by the Chantry’s Templar Order, have rebelled. A civil war is brewing. Peace minded mages and clergy meet to discuss terms… but are massacred by an explosion so powerful that it tears a hole in the sky. As the blast’s sole survivor, only you and your team can bring the world back from the brink of destruction. Gorgeous openworld game, choice-based action and consequences, lots of humor, and 8 different romance-able characters to woo. (PS4, XBOX 360, XBOX ONE)

The Darkness Outside Us by Eliot Schrefer

“This is a refreshingly unique space adventure that will keep readers on their toes until the end. I just want to put this into as many hands as possible” – DG Library Staff

Two boys, alone in space. After the first settler on Titan trips her distress signal, neither remaining country on Earth can afford to scramble a rescue of its own, and so two sworn enemies are installed in the same spaceship. Ambrose wakes up on the Coordinated Endeavor, with no memory of a launch. There’s more that doesn’t add up: Evidence indicates strangers have been on board, the ship’s operating system is voiced by his mother, and his handsome, brooding shipmate has barricaded himself away. But nothing will stop Ambrose from making his mission succeed—not when he’s rescuing his own sister. In order to survive the ship’s secrets, Ambrose and Kodiak will need to work together and learn to trust one another… especially once they discover what they are truly up against. Love might be the only way to survive.

The Witch King by H.E. Edgmon

“First, I laughed until I cried. Then, I cried until I cried more. This one was life-changing for me personally. Imagine if She-Ra & the Princesses of Power was rated R and told from Catra’s POV? (Except I love Wyatt far, far more.)” – Kelly K., Circulation

In Asalin, fae rule and witches serve… or worse. Wyatt’s betrothal to Emyr was meant to change all that, but instead he fled to the human world. Despite transgender Wyatt’s newfound identity and troubling past, Emyr tracks him down and claims they must marry to avert civil war back home. Jaded, Wyatt strikes a deal with the enemy, hoping to escape Asalin forever. But as the witches face worsening conditions, he must decide what’s more important – his own freedom or his people’s.

Avatar: The Last Airbender – The Rise of Kyoshi by F. C. Yee

“As a fan of the television series Avatar: The Last Airbender, I was excited to dive deeper into that universe with Earthbender Avatar Kyoshi’s origin story. Just like the television series, this story has its fair share of emotions and heartwarming storylines involving friendship and LGBTQ+ representation, to the heartbreaking reality of personal loss, impoverishment, and surviving in a world of political corruption. For fans of the Avatar: The Last Airbender series, this is a book worth picking up, and a hard one to put back down.” – Lane, Circulation

Set in the world of Avatar: The Last Airbender, readers journey into the origins of Avatar Kyoshi. Beginning with her humble roots in the Earth Kingdom, we follow Kyoshi as she stumbles into her position as the Avatar and journeys across the world in the pursuit of justice.

Miss Meteor by Tehlor Kay Mejia and Anna-Marie McLemore

“My first five-star read of 2021! It was sweet, it was funny, it was diverse, and the cast of characters pops. It’s one of those books that I finished and was so happy that it exists.” – Erin, Kids Room

Former best friends Lita and Chicky team up to help Lita win the Miss Meteor pageant–a feat that no girl who looks like either of them has ever done. For Lita, winning the pageant means not fading into stardust (yes, really). For Chicky, it’s a way to save her family’s struggling restaurant. Together, along with the boys they may have feelings for, and Chicky’s opinionated older sisters, they’re determined to prove they can win it all.

Lady in Waiting: My Extraordinary Life in the Shadow of the Crown by Anne Glenconner

“This book is a fascinating look into the life of an English aristocrat. In addition to showing the reader what life as an English aristocrat is like, the book portrays Anne as a real person who has experienced both joys and sorrows in life. Despite Anne’s privileges, she has endured many difficulties, including the deaths of two of her children, serious injury to another, and a husband who was very challenging. If you are an Anglophile and loved watching The Crown and Downton Abbey, this is the book for you!” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

This fascinating memoir introduces us to Anne Glenconner, the daughter of the Earl of Leicester, who was born in England in the early 1930s. Anne was a childhood friend of Princesses Margaret and Elizabeth, served as a maid of honour at the Coronation of Queen Elizabeth, and spent over 30 years as a lady in waiting to Princess Margaret. Anne married a very wealthy, but eccentric, man, had five children, traveled the world, hobnobbed with stars on the island of Mustique, and endured numerous family difficulties and tragedies.

Be Dazzled by Ryan La Sala

“As a self-proclaimed nerd and amateur cosplayer, this book took me into the world of conventions that have been temporarily taken away from us. Ryan La Sala weaves the world of cosplay and conventions with an adorable romance that brought me so much joy while reading.” – Gina R., Circulation

Told between the present and in flashbacks, Be Dazzled is the story of Raffy, a dedicated crafter and cosplayer. He is entered in the biggest cosplay competition at the Controverse convention and is determined to not let anything ruin it for him, even when he finds out that his ex-boyfriend is also competing.

Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

“In Khorram’s hands, Persian culture and the country of Iran truly shine. Darius is a sweet teenager struggling with self-identity and his place in the world. It’s for anyone who has ever felt a sense of longing for something, without knowing what that something is. This YA book is a perfect read-alike for Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.” – Erin, Kids Room 

Darius is about to embark on a trip to Iran for the very first time. He’s never really felt Persian, doesn’t know how to speak Farsi, and is struggling with clinical depression. When he arrives in Iran, he meets his grandparents and his mother’s family for the very first time, and he meets Sohrab, the boy next door. For the very first time, Darius may feel at home.

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

“This is a book about learning who you are and learning to love who you are and not needing outside validation. You don’t need love to be happy, but it is a nice bonus if you have it. I loved this book because there aren’t enough books out there with this underlying message. Love is not the “end-all-be-all” but this book gives you hope that love is out there and you don’t have to be perfect to get it.” – Gina, Circulation

Felix Love, ironically, has never been in love, but he wants to know what it’s like. He believes that he doesn’t deserve love because he’s “one marginalization too many.” He’s black, queer, and transgender. When an anonymous student publicly outs him by posting old pictures and his name from before he transitioned, Felix wants to find out who did it and get revenge. His revenge plot unexpectedly throws him into a love triangle and everything about his life is suddenly more complicated.

Real Life by Brandon Taylor

“I loved how well Taylor’s writing was able to transport the reader into Wallace’s mind and body and feel his deep alienation, loneliness, desire, and pain. Taylor’s words are poignant and purposeful, and give a powerful voice to so many experiences, feelings, and emotions that ought to be heard.” – Van, Adult & Teen Services

Wallace, a gay, Black biochem graduate student at a predominantly white Midwestern graduate school, navigates tokenism, racism, and biases in academia while struggling with his own internal conflicts and trauma.

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

“This is a beautifully written novel in verse that will speak to anyone looking to find their place in the world.” – Amanda, Adult & Teen Services

A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen – then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. A bold story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers – to show ourselves to the world in bold color.

Are You Listening? by Tillie Walden

“This graphic novel is an emotional, yet hopeful little road trip story. It discusses important and difficult topics such as coming out and sexual assault, while also being whimsical and slightly spooky with its touches of magic. The art is gorgeous and the story kept me enthralled from cover to cover.” – Gina, Circulation

Bea is running away from home when, on the way, she runs into a familiar face. On their road trip throughout Texas, Bea and Lou try to return a lost cat back to its owner. Along the way, they run into strange and mysterious roadblocks that they can’t explain.

Research

Search
Reset
Loading your items.......

Academic Search Complete

Newspaper, magazine, and academic articles on biology, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, and medicine.
Tutorial

Creativebug

Creativebug is an all ages crafting resource with video tutorials on everything from knitting and crocheting to art and design for crafters of all experience levels. There are also downloadable patterns, templates, and recipes at your fingertips.
Tutorial

Global Road Warrior

Customs, religion, language, dress, diet, and lifestyle on people of many countries

LinkedIn Learning

Renowned software training tool. Learn to retouch photos, design websites, record songs, create spreadsheets, animate 3D graphics, and more. Users must be ages 16+. Users must have a DGPL library card for in-library and remote access.
Tutorial

Newspapers - Major US Daily News

Search Chicago Tribune 1849-current, The Wall Street Journal 1984-current, The Washington Post 1987-current, The New York Times 1980-current, and Los Angeles Times 1985-current full text at once. Or click Publications in the top menu to browse individual newspaper content.

Reference Solutions

Formerly ReferenceUSA. Directory of 13 million businesses, residential listings, and telephone numbers in the US.
Tutorial

Science Flix

Covers more than 30 subjects in all areas of science using video, articles, and interactive content including experiments.
Tutorial

Universal Class

Online courses on professional development, crafts, parenting, pet care, career training, finance, homeschooling, and more! Courses are self-paced. Completing a course with 70% or higher will earn a CEU Certificate. These courses are also available in the Libby app (some exceptions may apply).
Tutorial