The Sweeney Sisters by Lian Dolan

“It’s an engaging novel, perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and readers who love novels about family relationships.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

Liza, Maggie, and Tricia are the daughters of famous writer William Sweeney and when he passes away, they reunite at the family home to sort out his affairs. While mourning their father, the women learn that they have another sister, Serena, whom William learned about a month before he died. The Sweeney Sisters is the story of the four over the course of a summer as they come to terms with the secret, bond, and move forward.

Be Dazzled by Ryan La Sala

“As a self-proclaimed nerd and amateur cosplayer, this book took me into the world of conventions that have been temporarily taken away from us. Ryan La Sala weaves the world of cosplay and conventions with an adorable romance that brought me so much joy while reading.” – Gina R., Circulation

Told between the present and in flashbacks, Be Dazzled is the story of Raffy, a dedicated crafter and cosplayer. He is entered in the biggest cosplay competition at the Controverse convention and is determined to not let anything ruin it for him, even when he finds out that his ex-boyfriend is also competing.

Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

“In Khorram’s hands, Persian culture and the country of Iran truly shine. Darius is a sweet teenager struggling with self-identity and his place in the world. It’s for anyone who has ever felt a sense of longing for something, without knowing what that something is. This YA book is a perfect read-alike for Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.” – Erin, Kids Room 

Darius is about to embark on a trip to Iran for the very first time. He’s never really felt Persian, doesn’t know how to speak Farsi, and is struggling with clinical depression. When he arrives in Iran, he meets his grandparents and his mother’s family for the very first time, and he meets Sohrab, the boy next door. For the very first time, Darius may feel at home.

Foodie Faces by Bill and Claire Wurtzel

“This book is a family read-together win. The photos are large and clear enough to catch even a baby’s eye. Toddlers and preschoolers will enjoy pointing out the different foods they see and can practice identifying facial expressions as well as learn a couple of new vocabulary words for ways they may feel. School-aged kids may be inspired to create (and hopefully eat) their own foodie faces, and adults can sit back and giggle at the clever compositions!” – DG Library Staff

Bill Wurtzel plays with his food, and after the photoshoot, Claire Wurtzel eats it! This book showcases large, clear photos of their breakfast plates turned into faces showing different emotions.

Empire of the Ants by Bernard Werber

“The story is tense and fascinating, indulging my love for mystery, conspiracy, and speculative fiction. But my true admiration comes from the author’s thorough understanding of ant species; their biology, society, and behavior. There were many moments where I would stop to research an outlandish claim the book would make, such as ants keeping herds of domesticated livestock, only to discover that it’s not only true but far more complex than the book chooses to explore. The book’s ability to portray the characteristics of these tiny insects while drawing accurate comparisons to human analogs makes the narrative all the more chilling and relatable.” – Max, IT

This novel is a thriller told both from the perspective of a man who moves into his eccentric uncle’s house and from the perspective of an ant that is part of a nearby colony. As each is compelled to investigate different mysterious occurrences, their worlds draw closer together.

Stand Up, Yumi Chung! by Jessica Kim

“Stand Up, Yumi Chung! is a feel-good, laugh-out-loud story for middle-grade readers that has plenty of appeal for older readers as well. Anyone who has struggled with finding their voice, especially without their family’s support, can identify with the story’s message. The writing features tender and humorous moments between Yumi and her parents without veering into stereotypes or caricatures. Readers are touchingly reminded that we must overcome our fear of failure, not failure itself.” – Van, Adult & Teen Services

Readers follow Yumi, a shy young Korean girl who loves stand-up comedy but her immigrant parents would rather she concentrate on school.

Interior Chinatown by Charles Yu

“One of the most fun books I’ve read this year!” – IT Department

Charles Yu tells a story of an immigrant family in the style of a Law & Order teleplay. The main character Willis Wu is an actor struggling to break out of the background of the show he is on, ‘Black & White.’ Yu subverts Hollywood clichés and uses John Denver songs to build characters’ lives that are more vibrant than their tv counterparts.

Florence Adler Swims Forever by Rachel Beanland

“I enjoy family fiction, and this is one of the best I have read in some time. I was hooked after a few pages! The story is told from multiple viewpoints, and the characters in the book really come alive. I felt like I knew the characters, warts and all. The Adler family’s love for one another as they grieve the loss of Florence shines through. The setting, Atlantic City in 1934, and the family’s efforts to help family friends get out of Germany as Hitler rises to power add interest to the story.” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

It’s 1934 in Atlantic City, NJ. Florence Adler, a star swimmer, drowns while training to swim the English Channel. Her Jewish family goes to great lengths to hide Florence’s death from her sister, Fannie, for fear Fannie will lose her baby. The book focuses on the aftermath of the tragedy and shows how love helps a family heal.

Disgusting Critters Series by Elise Gravel

“Elise Gravel’s cute illustration style immediately caught my eye, and the way she presents the information has me hooked! I love insects, bats, and other critters often considered “creepy”. But for younger readers with more average interests, Gravel takes away a whole lot of the gross, and replaces it with funny! The whole series (10 books so far- The Fly, The Slug, The Rat, The Worm, The Spider, Head Lice, The Toad, The Bat, The Cockroach, and The Mosquito) does a great job presenting non-fiction in a fun, and easy to read, way.” – DGPL Staff

Elise Gravel’s Disgusting Critters series is an eye-catchingly cute and very silly non-fiction introduction to a number of gross, sometimes misunderstood, creepy creatures- including rats, spiders, worms, and cockroaches!

Lake Life by David James Poissant

“A poignant, sometimes uncomfortable, yet lingering exploration of family and relationships, perfect for readers of Stewart O’Nan, J. Ryan Stradal, and Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

The Starling family is gathering for one last weekend on Lake Christopher in North Carolina before their vacation home of more than thirty years is sold. However, a tragic accident on their first day causes tensions and secrets to come to the surface.