Anonymous Rex by Eric Garcia

“For me to say that this book is carried by its ridiculous premise would be a disservice to the quality of its writing, but the truth is that it has so much thoughtful and adult humor that eventually you take it for granted, and it becomes the natural setting for the mystery our detective is uncovering. When I’m reading, my emotions bounce back and forth from moments of laugh-out-loud comedy about human-suit wardrobe malfunctions to cringing at tense and believable drama. And if you love a story with a great late-game twist, this one has you covered.” – Max, IT

This is a detective novel in the tradition of Dashiell Hammet or Raymond Chandler. A hard-boiled and disillusioned private investigator just wants answers, but gets wrapped up in a conspiracy that could cost him his life. Oh, and did I mention that he’s a velociraptor? Wait, I should also explain that dinosaurs didn’t go extinct, but instead have evolved into more humanoid shapes stuffed uncomfortably into human disguises. It’s very important that humans don’t discover the existence of dinosaurs among them, that might shake society to its core. Anyway, it’s really a detective story about our private eye trying to uncover the truth, seek justice, and navigate the treacherous path between dangerous criminals, manipulative politicians, and mad visionaries, all while keeping the two worlds apart.

The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding by Jennifer Robson

“I enjoy all things royal, so this book was perfect for me. I loved reading about the secrecy surrounding Queen Elizabeth’s wedding gown, the exquisite embroidery covering the dress, the excitement surrounding the royal wedding, and life in post-war London. I also enjoyed the personal story of Ann and Miriam, the two lead embroiderers on the dress, and the story of their friendship and lives. This is a feel-good, easy to read book that is perfect for historical fiction fans.” – Nancy, Adult & Teen Services

The Gown is a historical novel about two women, Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, who embroidered Queen Elizabeth’s wedding gown for her 1947 wedding. Ann is a Londoner who has lost most of her family and Miriam is a Holocaust survivor who has moved from France to London after the war. The novel provides fascinating detail about the making of the royal wedding gown and also insight into life in post-war London.

Wow, no thank you: essays by Samantha Irby

“I could so relate to these hilarious essays and am convinced the author and I would become immediate best friends upon meeting, or at least exchange mixtapes.” – Gracie, Kids Room

A collection of self-deprecating and humorous essays from an anxious forty-something that finds herself stuck in the middle of a small Midwest town. Literal laugh-out-loud observations of the every day from Samantha Irby.

Hide and Seeker by Daka Hermon

This quote hooked me immediately! “Out of the darkness, no more light, now it comes to steal your life. On this day you’ve sealed your fate, by playing what it loves to hate. Once you’re tagged, then you’ll know, the mark appears, it’s your time to go. Now you’re in the final count, it’s closer to the set amount.” – Traci, Kids Room

A simple game of hide and seek turns into a horrible nightmare for Justin and his friends!

The Sweeney Sisters by Lian Dolan

“It’s an engaging novel, perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and readers who love novels about family relationships.” – Lora, Adult & Teen Services

Liza, Maggie, and Tricia are the daughters of famous writer William Sweeney and when he passes away, they reunite at the family home to sort out his affairs. While mourning their father, the women learn that they have another sister, Serena, whom William learned about a month before he died. The Sweeney Sisters is the story of the four over the course of a summer as they come to terms with the secret, bond, and move forward.

Be Dazzled by Ryan La Sala

“As a self-proclaimed nerd and amateur cosplayer, this book took me into the world of conventions that have been temporarily taken away from us. Ryan La Sala weaves the world of cosplay and conventions with an adorable romance that brought me so much joy while reading.” – Gina R., Circulation

Told between the present and in flashbacks, Be Dazzled is the story of Raffy, a dedicated crafter and cosplayer. He is entered in the biggest cosplay competition at the Controverse convention and is determined to not let anything ruin it for him, even when he finds out that his ex-boyfriend is also competing.

Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

“In Khorram’s hands, Persian culture and the country of Iran truly shine. Darius is a sweet teenager struggling with self-identity and his place in the world. It’s for anyone who has ever felt a sense of longing for something, without knowing what that something is. This YA book is a perfect read-alike for Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.” – Erin, Kids Room 

Darius is about to embark on a trip to Iran for the very first time. He’s never really felt Persian, doesn’t know how to speak Farsi, and is struggling with clinical depression. When he arrives in Iran, he meets his grandparents and his mother’s family for the very first time, and he meets Sohrab, the boy next door. For the very first time, Darius may feel at home.

Foodie Faces by Bill and Claire Wurtzel

“This book is a family read-together win. The photos are large and clear enough to catch even a baby’s eye. Toddlers and preschoolers will enjoy pointing out the different foods they see and can practice identifying facial expressions as well as learn a couple of new vocabulary words for ways they may feel. School-aged kids may be inspired to create (and hopefully eat) their own foodie faces, and adults can sit back and giggle at the clever compositions!” – DG Library Staff

Bill Wurtzel plays with his food, and after the photoshoot, Claire Wurtzel eats it! This book showcases large, clear photos of their breakfast plates turned into faces showing different emotions.

Empire of the Ants by Bernard Werber

“The story is tense and fascinating, indulging my love for mystery, conspiracy, and speculative fiction. But my true admiration comes from the author’s thorough understanding of ant species; their biology, society, and behavior. There were many moments where I would stop to research an outlandish claim the book would make, such as ants keeping herds of domesticated livestock, only to discover that it’s not only true but far more complex than the book chooses to explore. The book’s ability to portray the characteristics of these tiny insects while drawing accurate comparisons to human analogs makes the narrative all the more chilling and relatable.” – Max, IT

This novel is a thriller told both from the perspective of a man who moves into his eccentric uncle’s house and from the perspective of an ant that is part of a nearby colony. As each is compelled to investigate different mysterious occurrences, their worlds draw closer together.

Stand Up, Yumi Chung! by Jessica Kim

“Stand Up, Yumi Chung! is a feel-good, laugh-out-loud story for middle-grade readers that has plenty of appeal for older readers as well. Anyone who has struggled with finding their voice, especially without their family’s support, can identify with the story’s message. The writing features tender and humorous moments between Yumi and her parents without veering into stereotypes or caricatures. Readers are touchingly reminded that we must overcome our fear of failure, not failure itself.” – Van, Adult & Teen Services

Readers follow Yumi, a shy young Korean girl who loves stand-up comedy but her immigrant parents would rather she concentrate on school.