Tristan Strong Destroys the World by Kwame Mbalia

“The author has created a fascinating world of African mythology and African American tales and I think this book is even better than the first. The book is good but the audiobook is exceptional. Amir Abdullah’s narrating skills will have you spellbound. Available in eAudiobook and Playaway only.” – Sharon, Kids Room

A few weeks after the events of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (2019), Tristan is back at his grandparent’s farm when he receives a dire warning from Alke, “He’s coming!” Tristan uses his well-honed storytelling skills to get back to Alke, and discovers the evil Shamble Man capturing the gods and goddesses of Alke and slowly destroying them (and their stories). It’s up to Tristan and his friends from Alke to stop the Shamble Man.

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

“The alternating perspectives and flashbacks to events throughout the summer create a suspenseful web of mystery and twists. The audio is a full-cast recording and lends itself well to the nature of the storytelling, where the podcast feels like your typical true-crime podcast. As a lover of true crime and the many podcasts that are devoted to the subject, this book was right up my alley and a good read-a-like to Sadie by Courtney Summers.” – Amanda, Adult & Teen Services

When Anna Cicconi arrives in the small Hamptons village of Heron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna delves deeper into the mystery, feeling that she is somehow connected to Zoe. Two months later, Zoe’s body is found and Anna is charged with manslaughter, although something still does add up for Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast. Did Anna really kill Zoe? If not, can the truth be uncovered?

How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell

“It is VERY funny—the audiobook is fantastic, with amusing accents” – DGPL Staff

Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III is a Viking boy whose father is head of his tribe. During his tribe’s initiation, he proves himself to be a brave risk-taker! Hiccup’s dragon Toothless, adds much comedy to the novel.

Over the Top: A Raw Journey to Self-Love by Jonathan Van Ness

“I absolutely loved listening to Van Ness’ audiobook. I could not get enough of him in the series, Queer Eye. His joy for life just radiates and his quippy lines stick with you. I am really just amazed by his ability to turn his pain into passion. With humor and inspiration, his story is a must-listen!” – Kira, Adult & Teen Services

Van Ness, one of the stars in the Netflix series “Queer Eye” shares his story of how he transformed pain into strength. Through years of endured trauma and abuse, he turned his story around to inspire and inform others about the true meaning of self-love.

Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don’t Know by Malcolm Gladwell

“An absolutely fascinating look at why it’s so difficult to know the ‘other’” – Julie, Administration

Why are we so bad at making sense of the words and actions of people we don’t know? Malcolm Gladwell has a well-researched, engrossing answer that includes scientific studies and historical events that illustrate the tools and strategies we use to understand strangers – and why they don’t work. More like a well-produced podcast than a traditional audiobook, it includes a theme song, interviews with scientists and researchers, and recordings of events.

Life Will Be the Death of Me…And You Too! by Chelsea Handler

“I’ve followed Handler’s career for years now, and her very in your face, no holds barred, no filter comedy has always been funny. This book, however, is brutally honest, insightful, sensitive, and hilarious. One minute I was laughing, the next minute I was in tears.” – Erin, Kids Room

Comedian Chelsea Handler decides to make some changes in her life and in the world around her. She wants to become more self-sufficient, she wants to work through her anger, and she wants to finally confront the death of her brother.

As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride by Cary Elwes

“As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride is… an audiobook, of a book, about a movie, based on another book. A quote from the original work, The Princess Bride by William Goldman, might put it best: “This is my favorite book in all the world, though I have never read it”. This book combines two great things: warm nostalgia for the classic 80s movie The Princess Bride, and cool behind-the-scenes information. Add to that the audiobook’s narrator – Westley himself (Cary Elwes), as well as all the personal memories read by other members of the cast and crew – and you get something really wonderful!” – DGPL Staff

Written and narrated by Cary Elwes (the actor who played Westley), As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride is a sweet memoir about the making of this classic 80s movie.

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

“Daisy Jones & the Six is one of the best and most memorable audiobooks I have ever listened to! Written as a transcribed oral history, this book lends itself perfectly to the audio format. Narrated by a star-studded full cast of 21 narrators, the result is a memorable listening experience filled with unique characters who have amazing chemistry and authentic-sounding relationships.” – Van, Adult & Teen Services

Daisy Jones & the Six recounts the meteoric rise of a fictional seventies rock band and their mysterious fall from grace.