Long Commute? Me Too!

I have always been a voracious reader, having three or four books going at a time. In recent years, as downloadable book access got easier, I became an avid audiobook listener. I commute, take my dog on long walks, and garden. All of these activities are more enjoyable with an audiobook! 

Actually, I find myself finishing some books via audio that I might not have thought to pick up at all in print. Humorous stories or biographies read by the author especially lend themselves to the format. Light romance and fiction are also great for listening. Here are three of my recent recommendations:

The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey 
Set in a post-apocalyptic world, Melanie is a very special little girl—one who lives in a cell and doesn’t know why. This dystopian fiction thriller is great for fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman.

Gumption by Nick Offerman
A vast departure from his first book, Offerman looks at 25 Americans who inspire him. He expounds on favorite topics including politics, religion, woodworking, agriculture, and, of course, meat. If you are a fan, the audiobook narrated by him is the best way to enjoy this nonfiction humorous title!

Daughters of the Bride by Susan Mallery
Long-widowed Maggie Watson’s three very different daughters juggle preparing for their mother’s wedding and searching for their own happily ever afters. Named a Library Journal Best Romance of the Year, this is recommended for anyone who has survived the wedding of a mother, sister, or daughter. 

Visit www.dglibrary.org/eLibrary or your device’s app store to download Libby, OverDrive’s eAudiobook and eBook app. If you’d like more suggestions, just ask!
Julie Milavec
jmilavec@dglibrary.org